Yummy Carrot Cake

I could not resist taking a photo of this awesome carrot cake I made, I cant get over the size of it. I made it for the good friend that has left to go to Japan today 😦 and seeing it was her birthday I thought I would make one of her favourite cakes. It was so delicious that it did not last a day, I particulary liked the roasted walnuts ontop (that idea I got from Amber’s husband, who had made a very scrummy cake for our mothers group).

I have now included the recipe, enjoy!

  • 1 cup vegetable oil

  • 1 1/3 cups firmly packed brown sugar

  • 3 eggs

  • 3 cups firmly packed grated carrot

  • 1 cup walnuts

  • 2 1/2 cups SRF

  • 1/2 tsp bicarb soda

  • 1 tsp ginger powder

  • 1 tsp cinnamon powder

Frosting

  • 30g softened butter
  • 80g soft cream cheese
  • 1 tsp lemon rind
  • 1 1/2 cup icing sugar
  • 1 cup of roasted walnuts, chopped (cook for 15-30min in 180C oven)
  1. Preheat 180, grease deep 22cm round pan and line. If your pan is not deep (like mine) i just lined the edges with paper, with the paper 5cm above the edge of the pan.
  2. Beat oil, sugar and eggs until creamy.
  3. Stir in carrots and nuts then add the sifted dry ingrediants. Pour into pan.
  4. Bake in mod oven for 1 1/4 hrs. When cold top with frosting.
  5. Icing: beat butter, cheese and rind until light in colour. Beat in sifted sugar.
  6. Crumble the roasted walnuts on top.
3 thoughts on “Yummy Carrot Cake

  1. Looks delicious. If you don’t have the time to write it out, I’ll scan it & post it. I think with that recommendation, I won’t be the only one who wants to try it πŸ™‚

  2. Hi, T
    ried out your recipe for carrot cake, just halved everything and it turned out fabulous. Was finished smack…. no left overs, not even crumbs. thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

