Happy Hello Kitty party here we come……

One party done and dusted now onto the next. My beautiful Miss Mellebug will be turning 5 in the next couple of weeks so its back on the planning train to make her day special.

This year its all about ‘Hello Kitty’.

Not sure what made her come to this decision but I am thinking its a good one. Its a wee bit pink and a little different, a challenge.

So where to start?

Party favours

I started a few weeks back purchasing hello kitty parafenalia on ebay, most of which coming from China. Its much cheaper than buying here in Aus but you have to allow for postage. It can take up to a month of things to get here so I stress ‘get in early!!’. I have managed to get Stickers, erasers, bracelet and necklace sets all for around $10 and thats including postage. I also purchased these great stamps that will be used to decorate their party bags. Like with my sons party I will get the kids to spend time decorating their bags and with each game they will receive a prize to put into it.

Stamp kit which will be used to decorate their party bag.

I also purchased some Hello Kitty ribbon from China which I will use to make the girls Clips. Now all I am left with is figuring out what I will put into the boys bags, hmmmm. Dilemma.

Get some hello kitty ribbon and make hair clips for party favours

Next Decorations:

Pink Pink Pink. Thats the way to go. She wants of course Hello Kitty Bunting. I ordered fabric from the states (again allow for postage time). Then there is the pink balloons, streamers, napkins and these cute tissue paper flowers. 

Tissue paper flower tutorial by Sewsweetstiches

Food:

Yum. I am a sucker for party food and will always over indulge. Love the idea of strawberries dipped in chocolate. Then there is the pink lemonade using rasberries/strawberries to colour. How about pink jelly cups and musk sticks to add to the very obvious pink theme or perhaps pink waffer sticks.

pink strawberies

Then how about getting a hello kitty cookie cutter, make the biscuits and then get the kids to decorate. It could be sent home in their party bags or eaten on the spot.
As for the cake again I am taking the easy option and I puchased a decal to pop on the cake. Amelia picked the one below, she calls it movie star kitty.
Item image

Get the kids to decorate their own biscuits

Games:

Pretty much the usual party games will happen, like pass the parcel, lollie hunt, musical statues, but also loved this idea of putting the bow on Hello Kitty. Cut out the bows and get the kids to personalise them then on to the game. Me thinks the prizes for this game will be the hair clips.

Pin the bow on hello kitty

Others ideas could include: painting nose and whiskers onto their faces, making felt ears head band or hello kitty finger puppets.

Wow. I think thats all I have for the moment. If you have any other great ideas or tutorials please share below.

Happy Hello Kitty Party here we come!

Leave a Reply

