A little look at the making of a Mellebug hat

After the organising of two childrens parties and nasty ongoing colds I was left a little exhausted and uninspired to sew, blog or craft (hence a short abscence in blog posts). But with the approaching Australian summer I have been a busy little bee sewing up hat after hat plus a few more Boo Bear heatpacks and a super cute purple dinosaur costume.

Not that I am complaining tho. My little hobby has bought me some new summer sandals and bathers which will make me look smoking hot (I wish! lol).

The feedback for my new summer range of Mellebug hats has been fantastic. This time round I am using more designer fabrics which are so colourful and funky any child will definently stand out in the crowd. I only ever make 4 of one combination so the chances of seeing another child in the same hat are 0 to none

 The slow and steady stream of hats have been leaving my house giving me the opportunity to really get to know my local post office workers. It also make me busy but with still plenty of time to care for my two babes.

So what goes into making one of these hats??? 

First up is the cutting out of the fabric and interfacing and then ironing on the interfacing. This would have to be my least favourite part as interfacing and me, we just dont understand each other plus it takes foooorrrevvver to iron it on. Its funny stuff, it likes to adhere to some fabric beautifully and then turn its nose up on something else.

First step: min 30min if all runs smoothly with the interfacing

Second step is to start sewing it together. First starting with the crown and then the brim. In between this all is pin pin pinning and a few war wounds along the way

Second step: min of 30min (longer if you break a needle as you hit a pin or needing to rethread the spool)

Third part of the procedure is to sew on the velcro, outer stitch the brim and hand sew up the gap where it is pulled inside out.

Third step: another 30min

Then its time to take some lovely photos, upload them to the comp and then list them on my madeit store and on fb. Add another 30 mins.

So after 2 hours  you get a gorgeous, 40AK handmade hat that sells for a mere $35 for the kids hat and $40 for the yummy mummy hat.

Are they worth the money, Hell Yeah!

I read a little formula for pricing your handmade wares and basically it was working out that I should be selling my hats for $140 each. Would you buy a handmade hat for that much?? Maybe if it was personally made by Stella McCartney, but I doubt that would happen.

Regardless of not recouping all my labour costs I do enjoy the creating and moreso the positive comments that I get in return.

Now hands up who wants to buy a  Mellebug hat??

 

3 thoughts on “A little look at the making of a Mellebug hat

Leave a Reply

