Are you thinking of Christmas Decorations yet??

With only seven weeks to go my mind is beginning to think about decorations, especially if the venue is to be my place. As usual I want to save money and make my own but I think I end up spending more in supplies than if I was to buy pre-made. BUTTTTT Handmade is so much nicer and so unique that I embrace it.

So where to start, hmmmm. Table decorations.

I am looking along the lines of buying some tall (or even different heights) glassware from the thrift store and putting sticks in them. Then hanging a few ornaments on them. Similar to the picture below but changing the eggs to perhaps baubles. I always find that you cant put too much on the table as then you have no wear to put the food, so I thought something bulky uptop will give more table space.

Add a few candles, some crackers (sorry I havent yet attempted to make yet) and a colourful runner and voila perfect.

I also like the idea of hanging tissue paper pompoms above the table, wonder if I could incorporate the two. Perhaps I could just fill the glassware with christmas coloured lollies, gee the kids would love that, me too infact.

Pom Pom Tissue Tutorial

I was also looking at making some bunting but not sure in between sewing christmas presents and Mellebug wares that I would have the time. I loved this idea, very different to the norm.

11 Modern word banners and tutorials

For me I think I will be attatching tree decorations to string, simple but effective. You could also spell out “christmas” using these cool decorations made by Jac&Skeet. They would look sweet hanging above the fireplace (pity we dont have one).

Jac&Skeet on Facebook.I have been looking into making my own wreath and I came across thisI went and bought the wire loop at spotlight for $2 (cheap!!) and have made a start. Will most definently show you the finished product.Whats next?A little bit of recyclingPaper ornament tutorial

.I have been looking into making my own wreath and I came across this.

DSC_0702 2

Fabric wreath tutorial

I went and bought the wire loop at spotlight for $2 (cheap!!) and have made a start. Will most definently show you the finished product.

Whats next?A little bit of recycling Paper ornament tutorial

Paperback Christmas Tree, DIY Christmas Decor, How To Make A Paperback Tree

Paperback christmas tree tutorial

Scrap christmas ornament tutorial

This is super cute, feltey christmas tree tutorial by Julia Crossland

Felt tree tutorial

There are stacks and stacks and stacks and stacks of great tutorials for making your own tutorials. I could sit here for hours browsing them all but really not an option with two buzzing bees circling me wanting to play.

If you are not a maker dont dispare, there are heaps of gorgeous handmade decorations all ready to be delivered to your door. They are all made with love,  most often  in someones lounge room (like me).
Check out places like Madeit, Etsy and even on facebook.
One thought on “Are you thinking of Christmas Decorations yet??

  1. Pingback: Making Your Own Christmas Decorations versus Buying Them | Best Unusual Christmas Gifts

Leave a Reply

